CBS 42 named Alabama AP Outstanding News Operation

Top Stories

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT) — At the 2019 Alabama Associated Press Media Editors Awards Banquet held Saturday, CBS 42 took home a slew of awards, including the honor of being named Outstanding News Operation.

The CBS 42 family is committed to hard work and solid journalism. We are honored to accept the following Associated Press awards:

Best Documentary: First Place: Sherri Jackson, Scott MacDowell and Jack Royer, WIAT-TV, Birmingham, “Hidden History.”
Best Spot News Story:
First Place:  Cory McGinnis and Jack Royer, WIAT-TV, Birmingham, “Galleria Mall Shooting”
Best Lifestyle Feature: Third Place: Scott MacDowell, “Gipps Place”
Best Sports Story: First Place:  Simone Eli, WIAT-TV, Birmingham, “Tua’s Faith Through Football;” Second Place: Chris Renkel, WIAT-TV, Birmingham, “CJ Harris’ CBD Battle.”
Best Sports Feature: Second Place: Simone Eli, WIAT-TV, Birmingham, “Unbreakable Bond – The Deshaun Davis Story.”
Best Sports Program: First Place: Joey Rogers and Marcus Stroud, and CBS 42 Sports Team, WIAT-TV, Birmingham, “SEC Championship Coverage 2018.”
Victor Irving Best Staff Photography: Amos Hollinhead, Toby Carter and Scott MacDowell and CBS 42 Photographer Team, WIAT-TV, Birmingham.
Stan Tarilton Best Photographer: Third Place: Toby Carter, WIAT-TV, Birmingham.
Best Specialized Reporter: First Place:  Leigh Garner, WIAT-TV, Birmingham;
Second Place: Michelle Logan, WIAT-TV, Birmingham.
Best Sports Anchor: Second Place: Chris Renkel, WIAT-TV, Birmingham.
Best News Anchor: Second Place: Art Franklin, WIAT-TV, Birmingham.
Outstanding News Operation: WIAT-TV, Birmingham.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

CBS 42 Community Events

More CBS 42 Community Events