Nick Saban named to 2018 Dodd Trophy Midseason watch list

ATLANTA, GA – Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl released the midseason watch list for the 2018 Dodd Trophy. The list includes 17 of the nation’s top college football coaches.
The Dodd Trophy, college football’s most coveted coaching award, celebrates the head coach of a team who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s philosophy.
The midseason watch list was created through a selection process by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, taking into consideration each program’s current performance during the 2018 season, Academic Progress Rate (APR), and each coach’s commitment to service and charity in the community.
This year’s midseason watch list includes four former winners of the Dodd Trophy with Mike MacIntyre (2016), Chris Petersen (2010), Nick Saban (2014) and Dabo Swinney (2001) all making the list. Additionally, four of the coaches were finalists for last year’s award, including Paul Chryst, Mark Richt, Kirby Smart and Dabo Swinney.

Top Stories from CBS 42

CBS 42 News & Weather Apps

Get the CBS 42 Weather App

Download the CBS 42 News App

Latest Local News from CBS 42