Bill Clark named finalist for George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (UAB Athletics) – The national accolades continue to pour in for the UAB football program and head coach Bill Clark as he was named one of six finalists for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award on Monday.

Presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club, Clark is a finalist along with Dino Babers (Syracuse), Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Mike Leach (Washington State), Jeff Monken (Army) and Nick Saban (Alabama).

Clark led UAB to its first 10-win season in school history and capped it with winning the program’s first-ever Conference USA Championship. UAB landed 14 players on Conference USA postseason awards lists, and since the reinstatement of the program Clark has coached the Blazers to an overall record of 18-8 and a league mark of 14-3 (including the championship game).

Voting for the George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year opens on Tuesday, December 11. Eligible voters include NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and football Sports Information Directors, Maxwell Football Club members and selected national media. The winner will be announced on January 3, 2018, and the award will be formally presented at the 82nd Maxwell Awards Gala, which will be held on March 8, 2019 at the Tropicana Casino Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Clark was a featured guest at last year’s Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala as he was given the Thomas Brookshire Spirit Award.

UAB will play in the program’s third bowl game on December 18 against Northern Illinois in the Cheribundi Boca Raton Bowl. The game kicks at 6 p.m. CST on ESPN and is one of only three bowl games this season that features two conference champions against each other. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

CBS 42 Community Events

More CBS 42 Community Events