Minkah Fitzpatrick wins Jim Thorpe Award and Bednarik Award


ATLANTA, Ga. (WIAT) – Minkah Fitzpatrick’s ability to play all over the field on defense did not go unnoticed this season. Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Atlanta, Fitzpatrick became just the 2nd Crimson Tide player to take home The Jim Thorpe Award. It’s given annually to the nation’s best defensive back. He also won The Chuck Bednarik Award, which goes to the best defensive player in College Football.

In the 11 games he played this season, Fitzpatrick racked up 52 tackles, six tackles for a loss, an interception and one forced fumble. The Junior DB beat out DeShon Elliot (Texas) and Josh Jackson (Iowa) for the Jim Thorpe Award; and Bradley Chubb ( NC State) and Roquan Smith (Georgia) for the Bednarik Award.

Antonio Langham is the only other Alabama player to win the Jim Thorpe Award. He did that in 1993.

Copyright 2022 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.