UAB football Coach Bill Clark named finalist for Coach of the Year Award

Local News

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT) — UAB football coach Bill Clark has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award by the Football Writers Association of America and the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Other finalists include Scott Frost (Central Florida), Lane Kiffin (Florida Atlantic,) Jeff Monken (Army), Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma), Kirby Smart (Georgia), Dabo Swinney (Clemson), and Jeff Tedford (Fresno State).

The Blazers will end their comeback season in the Bahama Bowl against Ohio on December 22nd.

“It’s an honor to be mentioned among other outstanding coaches as a finalist for the Eddie Robinson award and to be associated with a name that commands the utmost respect,” Clark said. “To consider where we were two years ago and to now receive national notoriety is a testament to all of our coaches, staff, administration, players, and fans who made the return a success.”

The winner of the award will be announced on December 14th. The official presentation will be on January 6th with the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories

CBS 42 Community Events

More CBS 42 Community Events